Smith Valley Fire Department

Image result for slash pile                                                         Image result for slash pile  ​

Spring Debris Burning is Open March 1st - April 30th

(No Permit Required)

A few tips before you burn:

  • Call Air Quality before every burn at 751-8144 or Click Here for today's ventilation forcast.
  • Only vegetation may be burned, no man-made materials of any kind.
  • Check the weather forecast and do not burn when gusty or high winds are predicted.
  • Fires should be attended until completely out.
  • Have enough water, tools, and help on site to extinguish your fire if necessary.


Image result for plowing snow driveway Let it snow...Image result for Clip Art Smoke Detector

  • Help keep driveways and hydrants clear of snow, ice, and obstructions. Can our ambulance or fire engine get to your home?         
  • Make sure your smoke detectors and carbon monoxide alarms are in working properly. Make sure to change the batteries twice a year.
  • When was the last time your chimney was cleaned?               

Are you looking for a way to give back to your community? Have you ever considered becoming a volunteer firefighter or EMS provider? 

Image result for Wanted Volunteers Firefighters

We are currently accepting applications for various volunteer positions:

- Firefighters
- Firefighter/EMTs
- Firefighter/Paramedics
- Driver Operators
- Cadets
- Support Members
- Auxiliary Members

Contact us at 406.752.3548 or stop by our main station for more details.


Help us find you.  We often experience no address signs when we need to find you during an emergency.  A reflective sign saves time when there is a medical or fire call.


Take a moment and 'Like' us on Facebook


Location Map
Smith Valley Fire Department
3496 Highway 2 west
Kalispell, MT 59901
Phone: (406) 752-3548

These documents can help with subdivision review, hazard mitigation, or home inspections.



Our monthly Board of Trustee meeting is held the second Monday of every month at 4:00pm. This meeting is held at our main station at 3496 HWY 2 West, Kalispell. The agenda is posted in the community room window of the main station. We look forward to seeing you.


Smith Valley Fire District, Board of Trustees:

Rod Gillman, Chairperson

Marv Berg, Secretary

David Roberts

Chris Rupp

Alex Saylor


Have a question or comment for the Board of Trustees? Please feel free to contact us at